نبذة تاريخية

تأسست صناعات قطر، أو المجموعة، عام 2003 لتحقيق هدفين رئيسيين من أهداف السياسة الاقتصادية العامة.

يتلخص الهدف الأول في تعزيز وإدارة مكون رئيسي من مكونات التنويع الاقتصادي لسلسلة القيمة المضافة (قطاع البتروكيماويات والصناعات التحويلية) في قطر. ومن هذا المنطلق، فإن صناعات قطر تشكل دعامة أساسية لسياسة التنويع الاقتصادي التي تنتهجها الدولة، وتسهم في تحقيق ذلك من خلال إدارة مجموعة من الشركات المستدامة ذات القيمة المضافة في قطاع البتروكيماويات، كما تدعم الشركة النمو في مشاريع محددة ضمن هذا القطاع. وقد استثمرت صناعات قطر منذ نشأتها ما يزيد على 26 مليار ريال قطري في أصول للبتروكيماويات، ما أسهم بدوره في التنمية الصناعية للدولة وزيادة الإنتاج والمبيعات وعدد الوظائف والتقدم التقني وإدخال منتجات جديدة. كما أسهمت صناعات قطر بدور كبير في تنمية القطاعات ذات الصلة، منها النقل واللوجستيات والتعبئة والتغليف والتسويق.

والهدف الثاني هو أن تكون الشركة بمثابة آلية لتوزيع الثروة على المواطنين القطريين. وقد تحقق ذلك فعلياً من خلال السعر المنخفض للسهم وقت الاكتتاب الأولي العام، حيث كان سعر السهم الواحد 16.5 ريال قطري، وهو سعر كان منخفضاً كثيراً عن التقديرات العادلة لقيمته في ذلك الوقت. ثانياً، قامت المجموعة بتوزيع ما يزيد على 41 مليار ريال حتى تاريخه (ما يزيد على 60٪ من الإيرادات) كأرباح منذ تأسيسها.

  1. ما قبل تأسيس الشركة:

تُعد قافكو التي تأسست عام 1969 أقدم شركات صناعات قطر. ويعتبر تأسيس هذه الشركة أول خطوة هامة على طريق برنامج التنويع الصناعي لدولة قطر. وقد تم افتتاح أول مصنع بالشركة بعد خمسة أعوام من تأسيسها، أي في عام 1973. وعقب ذلك، وفي عام 1974 تم تأسيس قابكو وقطر ستيل. وفي حين بدأت قطر ستيل الإنتاج الفعلي عام 1978، باشرت قابكو إنتاجها عام 1981. أما كفاك التي تأسست عام 1991، وهي أحدث شركات مجموعة صناعات قطر، فقد بدأت نشاطها التجاري عام 1999.

  1. ما بعد التأسيس:

قبل عام 2003 كان لقطر للبترول، وهي شركة النفط الوطنية في دولة قطر، حصة في جميع الشركات التي انضوت تحت مظلة صناعات قطر (باستثناء قطر ستيل التي كانت تخضع لسيطرة الدولة). وفي أبريل من عام 2003، قامت قطر للبترول بعملية إعادة هيكلة أصبحت قطر ستيل بمقتضاها تخضع لسيطرة قطر للبترول التي نقلت جميع حصصها في قابكو وقافكو وكفاك إلى صناعات قطر.

وبعد طرح أسهم صناعات قطر في اكتتاب عام أولي في وقت لاحق من عام 2003، تم بنجاح إدراج الشركة في بورصة قطر.

وقد شهد عام 2003 أيضاً استحواذ قطر ستيل على دبي ستيل (أغسطس). وفي عام 2004، استطاعت قافكو الانتهاء من إنشاء قافكو 4، والتي أسهم تشغيلها بالكامل في أول عام لها في تحقيق مبيعات وأرباح قياسية لصناعات قطر. إضافة إلى ذلك، فقد تم ضخ استثمارات كبيرة في عدة قطاعات للمحافظة على المكانة الحالية التي تتمتع بها صناعات قطر باعتبارها واحدة من أكبر التكتلات الصناعية في منطقة الخليج. 

 

 

Top

IQ History

IQ or the group was established in 2003 to fulfill two key macro-economic policy objectives. 

The first objective was to consolidate and manage a central component of economic diversification of the value added chain (downstream) in Qatar. IQ is a core plank in the State’s economic diversification policy platform. IQ is achieving this by managing a group of sustainable, value added, hydrocarbon-focused companies, while facilitating growth in the selected downstream enterprises. Since its inception to date, IQ has invested in excess of QR 26 billion in downstream assets. This investment has contributed towards the State's industrial development in the form of increased production and sellable capacity, employment, technology advancements, and new products. IQ has also contributed significantly to the development of other related industries such as transportation, logistics, packaging and marketing.

The second was to serve as a mechanism to distribute wealth to Qatari nationals. This was primarily achieved via the discounted IPO price. The IPO was made to the public at a price of QR 16.5 per share, which was far below its fair value estimates. Secondly, the group has distributed more than QR 41 billion to-date (representing more than 60% of earnings) as dividend since its formation.

1. Pre-Incorporation History:

The oldest member of the group is QAFCO. Established in 1969, its inception marked the first significant step in the long road of State of Qatar’s industrial diversification program. Its first plant was inaugurated 5 years later, in 1973. Following this, in 1974, both QAPCO and Qatar Steel were incorporated. Qatar Steel commenced production in 1978, with QAPCO starting 3 years later, in 1981. The youngest of the group companies, QAFAC, was incorporated relatively recently, in 1991, with commercial operations beginning in 1999.

2. Post-Incorporation History:

Prior to 2003, Qatar Petroleum, the national oil company of the State of Qatar, had an interest in all of these group companies (with the exception of Qatar Steel, which was state-controlled). In April 2003, QP underwent a re-organization whereby it assumed control of Qatar Steel, and also transferred all of its interests in the companies to Industries Qatar.

After an Initial Public Offering (“IPO”) later that year, IQ was successfully listed on the Qatar Exchange "QE".

The year 2003 also witnessed the acquisition by Qatar Steel of Qatar Steel Dubai Steel (August).
In 2004, QAFCO completed construction of QAFCO IV. Its first full year of operations, QAFCO IV significantly assisted IQ in posting record sales and profits. In addition significant investments have been made in various segments to-date to maintain IQ’s status quo as one of large industrial conglomerate in the GCC region.

Top